Writing Prompt #27 Philosophical Questions for the Universe

Why are we here? What’s our purpose? Does it matter?

We are currently residing on a space rock that’s hurtling around a giant star at around 67,000 miles per hour. The speed is incomprehensible, unable to compare to anything we’ve seen before. 

Yesterday, when researching for a writing job I’d been tasked with from a client in America, I discovered that the subject matter was closely linked to my mother’s occupation in a small village in the UK. It was scarily close, as if planned, but it hadn’t been, it was a pure coincidence. It changed my perspective, proved to me that coincidences were just that and that they needn’t be any more, in the same way we are all here on this earth by chance.

But in the same way my coincidence offered me an opportunity to broaden my horizons, our shared existence offers us all an opportunity to experience life on our own terms. Sure, we can only live within our means, but why not stretch that little bit further? Reach for the stars? After all, if we are here today because of a coincidence, or a freak accident let’s put it, then there is no meaning to our existence that has been provided to us by some otherworldly being. 

We are in charge of our own destiny.

I’m sure there are some of you out there that don’t agree with me or are frightened by my statement because it is simpler to assume that our lives are not our own, that anything happens for a reason because it has all been predetermined since the beginning of time. Surely it is not more freeing to realise that the world truly is your oyster? That you can do anything you want to? 

I realise that this writing prompt is discussing the heavy philosophical questions, maybe too heavy for a Sunday morning, but I wanted to share with you my discovery in order to spark some motivation in my readers, kick you into action: finish that book, organise that holiday, take that leap of faith. 

After all, there is no point in holding yourself back from a life worth living if you can help it. 

One thought on “Writing Prompt #27 Philosophical Questions for the Universe

  1. I agree and disagree with you dear blogger.

    I disagree that we are here on this earth by co-incidence. I believe we are here by design. I disagree with a philosophy that suggests our existence is meaningless. If that is the case, why seek to make our lives meaningful? Why reach for the stars? Why broaden our horizons? Why not be satisfied with our supposed lot in life which is to live meaningless, humdrum, inconsequential lives? Why seek to live above our station?

    I disagree because I believe that deep down within each one of us is a desire to excel, to express our gifts, to be more than what life throws at us. Where does such desires and inward motivations come from? I believe they come from the One who created us, the One whose breath gives life to our mortal bodies, the One whose creative genes we share.

    I disagree because I believe this Omnipotent, Omniscient and Omnipresent One has put us on this earth for a reason and pre-ordained us for a purpose. It is simpler to say “my life is my own and I can live it on my own terms” than to seek to discover and fulfil that God-ordained purpose.

    I agree that to a certain extent we are in charge of our own destiny. Our choices create that destiny – a destiny that extends beyond the grave!

    Thank you for sharing this writing prompt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

