Writing Masterclass: The Creator Archetype

I read a post recently that described the Creator Archetype as someone with inexhaustible creativity and imagination and I thought about how wonderful that sounded. Imagine a character bursting at the seams with ideas, unburdened and free from creative block in any sense of the phrase. These are the Tony Starks of the world, the characters wanting to play god. 

Of course, these creators aren’t without flaws, they wouldn’t be human without them and sometimes the inventors of the world end up in troubled situations. Look at Dr Frankenstein for instance, he played god by creating a monster that people weren’t ready to accept. Unfortunately, flawed characters and terrible situations are what make our characters so enjoyable to read.

When we look at these characters we should see out of the box thinkers, people who can see the bigger picture. Their primary goal is to progress and because of that their biggest fear is being mediocre. The artists of the world are dying to be known, practicing techniques until their fingers bleed for their craft, a willingness to succeed where others have given in and failed.

I’d like to think that the more I read and write about these archetypes the more I can learn and develop my creative writing. Predominantly, in my research I have also learned an increasing amount about myself and what character traits I share with these archetypes, what my flaws are and how to overcome them, as if I were some sort of self help guru. The creator is a character I relate to on some deeper level than just being sympathetic because I too have a craft that I am desperately trying to master and I too have a fear of falling into mediocrity. 

This week I would like you to try and connect with your creative side. I want you to take a new perspective and imagine what it would be like if you were a struggling artist that could paint incredible renaissance portraits in a world where modern art out weighs traditional techniques. How does it make you feel? How are you going to progress your story? 

Let me know your story ideas in the comments below or tweet to me @kirstyawriter. 

Leave a Reply

