When I Think Of My Dad…

When I think of my dad I remember all the practical skills he’s taught me over the years. I remember him teaching me that valuable lesson “Lefty Loosey, Righty tighty”, the basic function of screws, which I still repeat to myself, out loud, much to my partner’s amusement.

Needless to say, I still cannot put up a shelf, no matter how hard I try.

I will try my best at finding the fault with my car and fix it myself but nothing is quite as relieving than when my father tells me he’ll “sort it out” as I know that he won’t let me down.

When I moved house, he was there in an instant, lifting heavy furniture down flights of stairs into the back of a truck. He’d travelled the 60 plus miles just for an afternoon of helping me.

There are many things my dad has taught me over the years but even now, as a fully grown adult, I still need him.

On this father’s day, I want to thank you, Dad, for all the life lessons you’ve taught me and the lessons you will teach me. I hope that I make you proud in the way you make me proud when you get out of bed each day and try.

Leave a Reply

