The Travel Diaries: Dorset

While sitting in the sun, feeling the breeze on my shoulders in the mid afternoon sipping on strawberry ciders it’s hard not to get carried away with possibilities. The things that could be, the hopes and dreams that appear when you’re most relaxed and comfortable.

If you haven’t guessed already, I haven’t got a review for you today, not in the traditional sense at least. This week I want to look back at the week behind me and make a note, review my past achievements and significant memories.

Last weekend I was in Dorset, visiting Poole harbour and generally taking a break from the hectic city life. Since I was born and raised a marine village girl I felt at home walking along the beach, listening to the sound of the waves crashing against the beach, the salt air a welcome change from city car fumes.

It was along this coast that I noticed the large houses along the beachfront, it was hard not to, they stuck out like sore thumbs. Each house was a totally different design, shape, colour. Seeing them offered a completely new perspective on life, a point of view I have never been privy to, nor is it likely that I ever will, but it pushed me forwards, enticed me to work harder to reach my goals.

Displaying IMG_2501.JPG

When I returned to the holiday park where the budget caravan stood, I was starkly reminded of where I am in my life and how I strive for the large Malibu-esque beach houses I could see on my travels. With these goals in mind, I hope to end up somewhere happily in the middle, proud of my achievements.

Because at the end of the day we don’t know what we will amount to, what new and exciting experiences await us in the future. It all depends on what chances we take and whether or not we are willing to take that leap of faith.

Looking back at last week, my Twitter followers have increased and I am now sitting comfortably around the 170 mark with realistic aspirations of hitting the 200 mark by the end of the week.

Recently, I also signed up for an email newsletter from Freedom With Writing who send helpful competitions and freelance opportunities direct to my inbox which may be of use to others in a similar boat. I hope that in the coming weeks I will be able to enter some of my prose into competitions to create more exposure, if nothing else.

There is still a long way to go but without retrospect the future can look like an impossibility. It’s hard to imagine life without my writing now as it plays such an important role yet in the grand scheme of things, five months of consistent writing is not a lot and I should be proud of how far I have travelled.

 

Leave a Reply

