Writing Masterclass: Interviewing Your Characters

If you’ve been reading my recent weekly writing prompts then you know that I have been interviewing my characters to find out a bit more about them. It was a method I decided to try after reading Richard Ayoade’s ‘Ayoade on Ayoade’ in which he decided to interview himself. It was a surreal read but it was comedic and inspiring.

This coming Sunday I have decided to interview my protagonist Emily Dove who is a hippie innocent caregiver who transforms into a hero over the span of the novel. She, ironically, has been the most difficult to write and so I thought the best way to get to know her was to interview her. The conversation didn’t disappoint.

I decided to interview her before the events of the novel take place but I really could have picked anywhere. As a matter of fact, it would probably be an idea to interview my character throughout the events of the novel to understand where they stand. Is Emily going to surprise me and jump ship, turn villainous at the first sign of conflict or is she going to fight the dark side with a new-found determination?

This week I would like you to pick a character that you are finding particularly difficult to write and interview them. Pick a topic that will start a conversation but don’t be afraid to chop and change, like a real interview. Emily Dove is a painter, she loves to paint flowers so I asked her questions about her work. You’ll find that by talking about a hobby, your character will open up, offer sentences that could inspire new events or even chapters.

Let me know how your interviews go in the comments below, I would love to hear your feedback.

 

4 thoughts on “Writing Masterclass: Interviewing Your Characters

  1. I learned this technique in a creative writing class in college, and you’re so right: it’s the perfect way to get to know your characters! I’m having a bit of a struggle getting one of my minor characters exactly where I’d like her. Perhaps she needs an interview this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a good idea! I once wrote a post (in three sections) from the perspectives of three of my characters, and that was a fun exercise, especially because only one of them was a perspective character in the book at that point. I didn’t know the other two as well and they surprised me a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

