Writing Prompt #13

Your old villain quit over creative differences, so you’ve put yourself in charge of hiring a new villain for your novel. What questions do you ask? What does the new villain’s resume say? Writer’s Digest


It is nighttime. The time I should be tucked up, asleep in bed but no, I’m not allowed. Or rather, it isn’t possible to do this at any other time.

I can’t believe I’m actually writing this but I am actually about to interview a shapeshifter.

His name is Artyom and his presence as he walks in the room reminds me of a young James Dean, cocky, sure of himself. Tonight he has informed me that he will be attending our chat as himself, the body he was born into, the body he grew up in before he discovered his abilities. He’s attractive for sure, has that bad boy charm, dark hair and chocolate eyes that made him look Mediterranean.

He’s only ten minutes late which impresses me. Normally villains are determined to make me wait as if somehow that is going to get them a spot in my novel. Unfortunately, that is a bugbear of mine and will not be winning anyone any bonus prizes.

Me: Thank you for joining us here tonight, I know you’re busy. How is your hunt for your brother? Have you made any progress?

Artyom: I have. He is being held prisoner and I hope to free him, tonight.

Me: Ok, sounds promising. It sounds like you have a strong bond with your brother but you haven’t seen him for decades. What makes you so deeply connected to him that you would do anything to save him?

Artyom: He’s my brother, the only family I have left. Wouldn’t you save your family if they were in danger?

Me: Of course. So what are you expecting to find when you try to free him?

Artyom: Blood.

It is at this point that he growls and I am a little bit taken back by how aggressive this conversation is making him. I decide to change the topic to something a little easier to discuss.

Me: You are an aspiring bounty hunter, something your brother taught you from a young age. How would you describe your work style?

Artyom: I do what I want, how I want. No questions asked. Sometimes people get hurt, that’s just the nature of the job.

Me: So you wouldn’t say you were a team player?

Artyom: Definitely not. I have only ever worked alongside my brother, teamwork does not appeal to me in the slightest. Plus, working with people means rules…I hate rules.

Me: So why do you think you would be a good villain for this story?

Artyom: Truth be told, I’m probably not the best person for the job, I have too many of my own worries to be concerned about the trivial politics of a college girl. Maybe I should have my own story.

Me: Now don’t get carried away.

Artyom: Now don’t get carried away.

Me: What are you doing?

Artyom: Imitating you. Since that’s all I’m apparently good for.

Me: Don’t you consider that just a little bit childish?

Artyom: This conversation is over. I have already wasted too much of my time with you.

I watched as he stormed out, slamming the door behind him as he left. He had slammed it so hard that it had splintered around the lock and the handle hung from the outside of the door where he had partially ripped it from the wood.

He was my villain.

 

 

One thought on “Writing Prompt #13

  1. Pingback: Writing Masterclass: Interviewing Your Characters – The Ramblings of a Madwoman

Leave a Reply

