Writing Masterclass: Writing Prompts

Before I had started my weekly writing prompt I barely wrote a word. If I wasn’t writing my manuscript then I saw no point in writing and it seemed like a waste of time. I had even reached a point in my life where I realised I couldn’t remember the last book I had read or even the last piece of significant writing I had looked at.

Life had well and truly captured me and I had reached a point in my life where I felt frustrated, depressed even.

They say the first step is realisation.

I knew that something had to change, I had to do something about my situation or it was only going to get worse. Deciding that I was not going to sit back and let my emotions get the better of me I began writing, began writing all my worries, my fears and everything that was bothering me down. I let it all flow onto the page and it felt therapeutic, a release of sorts. I noticed that the more I wrote the more I wanted to write, even when I was struggling, the fallback option was to write about my own personal experiences in the hope it would inspire something creative to accidentally tumble out.

If my experiences have taught me anything it would be that making time to write at least once a week has not only improved my mental wellbeing but also my writing. I have grown to love my style, grown to accept my writing for what it is: a part of me.

This week I want you to pick a writing prompt (I’ve put a few examples below for reference but you are more than welcome to look elsewhere- The Writers Digest often have a few interesting prompts to choose from) and construct a 400-1000 word short story, or flash fiction from this inspiration.

  1. You’re an alien visiting planet Earth for the first time. Write about your experience.
  2. Write a piece about your favourite food and why it is your favourite. Does it remind you of your childhood? Maybe you have fond memories of your grandmother’s cooking?
  3. You’ve just been given a device that lets to time travel. Where do you go?
  4. It turns out that the Easter Bunny is real but not in the traditional sense.
  5. Write a horror scene from the point of view of the villain.

When we are shopping for clothes we may have an idea of what we want to purchase. Maybe you don’t and you are just looking for inspiration. Either way, when we finally assess our purchases when we’ve put the kettle on and settled in at home, we are happy and excited to wear the garment. Finding the right writing prompt for you is much like shopping. Take your time, find the writing prompt that excites you and entices your mind to come alive with ideas.

Don’t be afraid to chop and change the prompt you do find. There have been a few times where I’ve changed key points because my mind has conjured a brilliant plot progression. It’s the beauty of creativity. For instance, when I wrote my writing prompt #4 I changed the gender of the character in question, making it a more interesting scenario and relevant to my personal writing experiences.

I would love to read your prompts and am always on the look out for potential guest posters so if you are willing to share (which you should be) and would like to be featured on the blog then please drop me a message.

 

3 thoughts on “Writing Masterclass: Writing Prompts

  1. Mine’s really short and fizzled out once it came time to describe the alien’s body language. I got stuck taking too much time to think about how this alien would express confusion. I have a whole body language invented for my Centaurins in my sci-fi novel, but this didn’t seem to warrant such planning.

    Here goes nothing…

    The first thing I noticed when I set foot on Earthen soil was how hot it was. The second thing I noticed was that it was very dry—I suddenly craved a drink of water, but I had left my supplies back in my ship’s cockpit. And the third thing I noticed was that there were a crowd of strange-looking bipedals…staring at me.

    They looked like something had gone wrong with their heads. They were standing as if they had nothing better to do, hunched over large tools with sharp tines on the ends with their faces kind of screwed up like they’d never seen anything like me before. One of them raised a wavering hand to point at me and murmured to the others in a voice so scratchy I wondered if it hurt to talk. I watched the hand, wondering if it was some kind of greeting.

    So I raised mine in return. Arm out, shaking a bit, forefinger pointed, the rest sort of drooping like they hadn’t the energy to curl into a fist. My blue skin seemed oddly bright in this dry, dull world.

    One of them, the one who had greeted me, cast his tool aside—well, more like it fell from his hand like he’d forgotten about it—and stumbled toward me, face still screwed up painfully. I felt a little sorry for the creature. Maybe he didn’t like the heat and dryness any more than I did.

    He squinted at me and said something. I didn’t understand.

    He raised his voice, repeating his words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

