Tv Review: A Series of Unfortunate Events (Netflix)

So today’s post will be a short one as I’m not feeling my best but at least my time spent in bed has let me catch up on my TV, most recently the new Netflix adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events.

I was a fan of the original as well as the books. I thought no one could top Jim Carrey’s kooky Count Olaf but I was wrong, man, was I so ridiculously wrong. But now my only issue is, I can’t see the role being played by anyone else other than Neil Patrick Harris.

I would recommend watching the show (or signing up for a free trial of Netflix to watch it if you don’t already have Netflix) as it’s one of those abnormally intriguing shows that hooks you in, much like Olaf’s loyal hooked henchman.

The one aspect that threw me was the conclusion and (spoiler alert) the singing at the end of the last episode of the season. It felt misplaced but also brought the characters together in one last scene, reminiscent of a stage show musical so in actual fact it probably suited the genre and style of the show.

If you were a fan of the books and/or the original film, I would highly recommend the tv series and I personally cannot wait for more Baudelaire struggles and oddly mischievous Olaf’s wrong doings. If you’ve never seen the film or read the books, well, you’re in for an oddly morbid treat.

Leave a Reply

