Inspiring the Writer

The other night I laid awake, not able to sleep, my mind active with wild and intricate ideas. It was peacefully frustrating as I knew I had work in the morning and how tired I’d be if I only managed to get an hour of kip. It was dark and quiet, the only noise the light breathing next to me from my partner.

It was in this time I re-evaluated my protagonist in one of the manuscripts I’m writing. It made me assess her situation, realising that she actually has a pretty smooth ride and how she needed something, like an emotionally driven insomnia, to throw a spanner in the works and make her character that much more likeable and relatable.

It goes to show that sometimes inspiration will strike at the strangest of times and that if you are stuck on your novel then the best thing you can do is give it some space. Practice other writing styles in the meantime, learn to free up your mind to the varying possibilities as your creativity will only span as far as you have experience or knowledge, or indeed the imagination.

When I was younger, and I mean a child, I wrote short horror stories about monsters in the woods, in the house, wherever I could think of. My small undeveloped brain had a vast imagination for all things scary and mysterious. It’s probably why I enjoy my short writing prompts as they allow me to get in tune with my inner child, to tap into that imagination.

My latest writing prompt follows my female protagonist as she falls through a wormhole into another dimension where things are just a little bit off. I was inspired by a dream I had after watching a play through of a game called Buried and reading the blurb of a book I recently purchased called Dorothy Must Die. Inspiration really does come from anywhere.

Leave a Reply

