The Search for a Better Job & Other Self Discoveries

So what have I discovered this week?

I have realised that job hunting is not all it’s cracked up to be. I have applied and chased up over twenty jobs in the past month alone with little to no reply. What I have discovered is that I am incredibly resilient and will continue in my job search until a result presents itself. Maybe I need to adapt and edit my resume or maybe it is just a run of bad luck or too much choice for employers in an overcrowded job searchers frenzy, either way, persistence and networking seem to be key to success.

I have also discovered that I am an overly careful person, with regards to finance, driving and life in general. Some may call this a weakness but it allows me to be fully aware in every action I take. It means I am able to assess the situation without leaping to conclusions. I could buy those shoes but what about all those starving kids in Africa? I could speed up to a dangerous speed on the motorway just so the person behind can get home that bit earlier. Whether intentionally or not, I am creating empathy towards my fellow human beings in everything I do. What I must remember is that I cannot pour from an empty glass, that before I can make others happy I must first take care of myself.

It is not all doom and gloom, this week I have also discovered that one of my top songs in a previous post has now reached chart status which means I get to listen to the song regularly on the radio (and eventually hate it after it is played to death- much like that Ed Sheeran song).

This week I have also received a wonderful shout out from Randall’s Review blog, who you should check out if you haven’t already. His posts are dry, witty and sarcastic which are all traits I love to find in a blog.

You’ve reached the bottom of this post- before you go, why not follow The Ramblings of a Madwoman for weekly Sunday writing prompts and other wild blogging tangents?

Leave a Reply

