How It Feels To Drive

Monday morning I sat in my works car park, very early for work and satisfied that I did the morning commute all by myself. It was the first time I’d been in a car alone and I must say, I loved it. I thought driving by myself would be a lot worse than being sat in a car full of people but actually, I’ve made fewer mistakes while alone in the car. I’ve listened to music and even gathered the confidence to sing along to my favourite songs (badly).


They say when you pass your test the real learning begins. It’s a hundred percent true. Monday morning I faced sirens and the mad rush of everyone trying to get to work. Tuesday I discovered driving in thick fog and remembered how to use my lights. Wednesday I stalled at a roundabout. It’s new and in retrospect, I probably should have invested in some P plates to warn other drivers that yes, I am here, and yes, I’ll probably annoy the hell out of you if you get stuck behind me.

 
Thing is, I thought I’d be more scared than I actually was. Yes, it takes more concentration because I’m a new driver but once you get over yourself and realise that you’re not the only one who makes mistakes, driving becomes a lot less stressful. For instance, I’ve become very aware of other drivers and even those who look full of experience forget the simplest of things, like signalling around a roundabout or accidentally revving their engine too much.


I think personally for the next few weeks I’m going to be a nervous wreck before each drive but it’s normal and eventually, I’ll get over it with practice. Even my friend Louise who passed her test a few months back has shared this feeling with me, after all, you’ve been given this tremendous powerful vehicle and are expected to just get on with it like it’s not some special gift you’ve just been handed.

Leave a Reply

