Living With A Vegan: Yay Or Nay?

In December last year, my partner decided to significantly decrease the meat and dairy products in his diet. This meant no pizza, chocolate or bacon and eggs on a Sunday morning.

It wasn’t a moral choice but a healthy decision, hence why I thought I’d do the proper girlfriend thing and support him in his venture. After all, it would be selfish to assume he’d accommodate my dietary requirements (I have an allergy to nuts) without returning the favour.

I’m not going to lie, I’ve had to make some drastic changes in our meal plans and at present, it involves a lot of vegetables and not a whole lot else. Luckily, there are a lot of meat substitutes including the Linda McCartney range of meat free sausages and burgers which make bangers and mash doable again.

January has been tough. Being able to nip to the local shop and pick up dinner if I’ve neglected to do a weekly shop is no longer a luxury I can afford as most vegetarian and vegan options are either full of nuts or non-existent.

It’s not all bad, though, I’ve felt healthier for doing it and I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so many vegetables in my life!

I think to further benefit from this new diet, I need to up my daily intake of water and pick up the regular exercise again. It hopefully will not only then continue to keep my skin looking healthy but it will increase my overall wellbeing, increasing my mental health to be an overall happier, well-rounded person.

Like what you see? Why not follow me for more articles like this one, as well as short writing prompts every Sunday.

One thought on “Living With A Vegan: Yay Or Nay?

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Vegetarian Recipes – The Ramblings of a Madwoman

Leave a Reply

