#bloggingbranding Day One: Setting Realistic Goals

Today I want to explore a new avenue, one that has been plaguing my mind for weeks. How to improve my blog to be the best it can possibly be.

Last week I watched a seminar that was full of misleading hope, one that told me ‘if I signed up today my life would significantly change’, all for the small fee of 299 dollars. I’m sorry but I’m calling bullshit. ‘Get rich quick’ schemes prey on the weak, the bloggers hoping that if they part with their hard earned cash they’ll get a return within the hour. Turning a hobby into a lifestyle takes time. So instead of signing my life away to a financial drain, I thought I would explore the internet for more knowledge on how to make my blog the best it can be.

There’s only so much on the internet that people are willing to give out for free, or so it appears. They seem to keep their cards close to their chest, offering out tiny freebies, glimpses into how they achieved their goals but I, if I’m perfectly honest, don’t believe that they have any information that I can’t find somewhere out there, for nothing.

WordPress.com offers a free daily email that assists you in creating a blog that you are proud of. I’m on day one and I must admit, I’m skeptical. I keep expecting to receive tomorrow’s email, one that expects me to pay a subscription fee or have to upgrade my blog to receive all the information, so I’m taking this with a pinch of salt and will wait to pass judgment until the course has concluded.

Today they have suggested that I create some realistic goals that I can achieve within approximately three months. So without further ado, my goals:

I would like to increase the traffic to my blog & increase my follower count by at least 40% within 90 days and hit my next milestone. In order to do this I will:-

  • Publish bi-weekly posts to create a steady content for readers.
  • Spend at least 1 hour a week nurturing existing relationships by visiting followers’ blogs, reading their hard work and commenting with helpful critique and reviews.
  • Continue my weekly Writing Prompt Sunday (and figure out what time zone WordPress is in to schedule my posts with considerably more accuracy).
  • I will keep a list of writing prompts & possible post ideas so I always have something to write about.

 

Hopefully, by posting my route to better blogging I will be able to offer free, helpful advice to others without leading my readers into the ‘get rich quick’ schemes we are privy to on our various social media platforms.

If you’d like to see more posts like this please follow my blog and let me know in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “#bloggingbranding Day One: Setting Realistic Goals

  1. Hahaha! I laughed (no seriously, I laughed) when you mentioned the schemes you’ve encountered because I’ve thought almost the exact same thing.

    “I can probably find this info for free,ya know.” Is what I’ve caught myself mumbling under my breath as I exit the sales page.

    Great post! I also like the sound of your writing schedule. This reminds me I need to set mine in stone. :-/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I’ve given up with webinars now and am instead looking at online courses to see if they offer any new information I can grab! Luckily I found an online course that had been reallllllly reduced and have been enjoying it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

