A lugubrious inner monologue

 

Everything happens for a reason. I’m calling bullshit.

I mean on the surface, yes, everything does happen for a reason, hence cause and effect but it’s one of those sayings that states the obvious to create some deeper meaning for itself.

From an outsiders perspective, while watching a couple of stoners arguing about the universe, it seems utterly profound and meaningless. Yet arguing with any of their points is like fighting a losing battle or trying to out smart a three year old. You win and yet you don’t feel like a winner.

So what does it mean? Everything happens for a reason. From the stoners perspective it could mean that anything that could possibly happen is because some heavenly or scientific reason has led you in that direction and that nothing you could do ever say or do to influence that path is insignificant. Life becomes effortless. If that’s true, suddenly life is easier to manage and you are wiped of any guilt, ill-doing because it’s not your fault, this has been planned for you.

Then there’s the cynics view, my pessimistic view. Maybe it’s closed minded, maybe even a little depressing but I truly believe that we as individuals are responsible for our own actions and that no greater power is controlling the decisions like some intricate puppet master.

Without sounding like I’m churning out the sayings and for a lack of better phrasing, ignorance is truly blissful. It would be nice to feel effortless, be the stoner looking for meaning in the stars but it’s just not me. As when I opened my eyes to the social injustice that we as individuals face every day I also opened my eyes to reality and let’s face it, reality is a nightmare we all want to ignore.

My resolution is much like a sound level monitor, to wave in and out of reality, relishing in my solace somewhere in between, not quite reaching my peak before falling into the other with a renewed sense of self. Neither an Einstein or a Kumar, I’m an explorer and sometimes that’s what gets me through the day.

footer

One thought on “A lugubrious inner monologue

  1. ‘Everything happens for a reason’ is stating the obvious. It’s basically saying that all things are caused by something else. What people mean when they say it is ‘maybe the bad stuff that happens isn’t really bad?’ in the sense that it leads to something better. That it was all planned.

    I don’t think everything was planned, or happened for a moral reason as some kind of teaching exercise. However if we look at things introspectively, and develop a certain perspective all the bad shit that does happen usually contains something we can learn from. Take a failed relationship as an example, sure we suffer a great deal of emotional turmoil when it all falls apart, but we almost always emerge with a stronger idea of what we want in a future relationship. We learn warning signs. Ultimately it makes us better people. That doesn’t mean someone planned it, but we can ask ourselves what we might learn from bad experiences.

    We are of course responsible for our own actions, but being responsible doesn’t mean we aren’t allowed to make mistakes. I think an important part of being happy in a life that has no metaphysical meaning is to be able to love and forgive ourselves. We often get tied down to our mistakes, and forget the good we do. One good piece of advice I heard was this; if we wouldn’t be angry at our best friend for something, we shouldn’t be angry at ourselves for it.

    I’m not sure what I’m trying to say, I guess my point would be that there is a balance. Yes the universe is cold and meaningless, but that doesn’t mean life has to be bleak. And just because we are ultimately responsible for what we do, doesn’t mean we should be hard on ourselves, far more hard than we would be to our loved ones. In my view happiness is not ‘out there’ in the universe, it wasn’t made to make us happy. Does that mean happiness is a myth? Not at all, I think happiness is a perspective that takes work to develop and maintain, but if we think that the universe owes it to us and will deliver it at a vague date in the future then we won’t find it. The most important moment is now and that is where we should look for happiness.

    Good article. Just thought I’d start some discussion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

