Writing prompt: Fear


“Can you pretty please get rid of the human-sized spider in the living room?” I begged as we climbed into bed together.

He sighed, “all you need to do is get a cup and a bit of paper and chuck it outside. I also highly doubt that it’s human sized.”

“It was!” I sat up against the pillow gesturing how big the spider was with my hands, “its body may not have been much but it’s legs extended to about this big.” I admit, I was probably exaggerating slightly with my hands but I didn’t care, I wanted the creature gone.

“I can’t just get rid of it anyway, I’ve tried to go near it with a glass but I get so shaky and” I shuddered, “what if I miss? What if it drops in my hair, or on my arm?”
“Then you just brush it off.” He said sleepily, his back facing me.

“Honestly, what’s the worst that could happen? It can’t kill you, we don’t live in Australia.” He mumbled.

“It could touch me!” I shuddered again.

“Anyway, I know it’s an irrational fear. I know it can’t actually hurt me but it’s the anticipation that kills me, like balloons about to pop. Ugh! That’s the worst.”


I looked over to my partner all wrapped up in the sheets and tucked the cotton around the bare bit of back he had exposed to the elements. How could he be so calm at a time like this? When a spider could be roaming free in our apartment at this very moment!

“Do you have any fears?” I asked, “you don’t seem to be afraid of anything.”

If I knew he wasn’t afraid of creatures in the night then I could use him as a protective barrier. Maybe the spider would get him first.

It took him a moment to answer.

“Fish. I don’t like fish.”

Smiling I curled in the sheets next to him and drifted off to sleep. The spider could be dealt with tomorrow.

footer

Leave a Reply

