Graphic Design: A Summary

 

Definition : Graphic Designnoun “the art or skill of combining text and pictures in advertisements, magazines, or books.” (Ripped straight from Google itself).

So you want to be a Graphic designer? Me too, hence the blog post! Anyway, through my studies at Norwich University of the Arts I believe that the basic comprehension of key design practices is integral to the success of a creative so I have dipped my toe quite gently into the surface of the design pool in the following exploration.

Firstly, you’re going to need an understanding of colour theory. A great blog post, other than this one, can be found here and is probably far more comprehensive than I could ever attempt. Basic summary: Contrasting colours are a great way to make a statement.

Secondly, since your design work will be aimed towards the commercial word I.e Magazines, adverts, etc, it is a good idea to get a firm grasp of composition: Rule of Thirds, where to draw your focus, etc. Here‘s another good article that I didn’t write.

It wouldn’t be an article about graphic design if I did not include any graphic design work so I have put a few of my favourite links below.

Maxime Quoilin

Katsuhiko Kuwamoto

Volkswagen

The most important tip to remember is that memorable art is usually the most striking, edgy and stands for something. Rarely does an artist sit on the fence. Your graphic design work should be asking questions without having to put the words on the page.

Another key part of Graphic designing is the typography. Here is a glossary of helpful terms. Who knew there were so many parts to a letter!

There are plenty of aspects to the design world but I hope that by understanding these few core components we can build a solid base to work up from. I wish you all the best in your ventures!

footer

Written by Kirsty Allen on WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

